Skip to content

Disability Awareness Week

Disability is not a 'brave struggle' or ‘courage in the face of adversity’. Disability is an art. It’s an ingenious way to live.

Leading up to our disability poetry event (happening May 26 @ Parnassus), we’ll be sharing disability-themed creative works that inspire us that hopefully you will find inspiring as well!

Praises, criticisms, rants, raves…? Feel free to comment and discuss!

Starting now! A poem by Neil Marcus…

“Disabled Country”

If there was a country called disabled,
I would be from there.
I live disabled culture, eat disabled food,
make disabled love, cry disabled tears,
climb disabled mountains and tell disabled stories.

If there was a country called disabled,
I would say she has immigrants that come to her
From as far back as time remembers.

If there was a country called disabled,
Then I am one of its citizens.
I came there at age 8. I tried to leave.
Was encouraged by doctors to leave.
I tried to surgically remove myself from disabled country
but found myself, in the end, staying and living there.

If there was a country called disabled,
I would always have to remind myself that I came from there.
I often want to forget.
I would have to remember…to remember.

In my life’s journey
I am making myself
At home in my country.

Tags: , , ,

